Need a Health Fund?

Private health insurance is available for all Australians who wish to cover the costs of becoming a private patient. Being a private patient means you have more control in choosing your treating doctor in hospital and in some instances can reduce your waiting time for elective surgery by having treatment in a private hospital.

Private health insurance also offers cover for some or all of the costs of other services not covered by Medicare, such as ambulance services, dental, optical items, physiotherapy and a wide range of other services.

Unlike other insurances, your premium is not affected by your age, health status or other risk factors. This is called community rating and it protects from having to pay higher premiums if you make a claim, or as you get older, or if you get sick.

Private Healthcare Australia Member Funds Contact Details

Private health insurance is provided through organisations registered under the Private Health Insurance Act 2007. The financial performance of registered health funds is monitored by the Private Health Insurance Administration Council (PHIAC), an independent Australian Government body, to ensure solvency and capital adequacy requirements are met. All members of Private Healthcare Australia are registered as health benefits organisations with the Commonwealth Government and therefore comply with Government standards and regulations on benefits and solvency.

The Australian Government regulates private health funds but rules regarding membership vary between funds and in some cases will vary between States. For example, all health funds have certain waiting periods and other conditions that apply before benefits are payable.

If you wish to join a health fund, or wish detailed information about what our members offer, try the links below:

PRIVATE HEALTHCARE AUSTRALIA MEMBER FUNDS
Phone
Number
Website
ahm Health Insurance 134 246 www.ahm.com.au
Australian Unity Health Ltd 13 29 39 www.australianunity.com.au
Bupa Australia Pty Ltd 134 135 www.bupa.com.au
CBHS Health Fund Ltd 1300 654 123 www.cbhs.com.au
CDH Benefits Fund Ltd (02) 4990 1385 www.cdhbf.com.au
Defence Health Ltd 1800 335 425 www.defencehealth.com.au
GMHBA Ltd 1300 446 422 www.gmhba.com.au
GU Health 1800 249 966 www.guhealth.com.au
HBF Health Ltd 13 34 23 www.hbf.com.au
HCF Ltd 13 13 34 www.hcf.com.au
Healthguard Health Benefits Fund Ltd Central West Health Cover 133 206 www.centralwesthealth.com.au
GMF Health 1300 653 099 www.gmfhealth.com.au
Health Insurance Fund of Australia Ltd 1300 13 40 60 www.hif.com.au
Health Partners Ltd 1300 113 113 www.healthpartners.com.au
Latrobe Health Services Ltd 1300 362 144 www.latrobehealth.com.au
Medibank Private Ltd 132 331 www.medibank.com.au
Mildura District Hospital Fund Ltd (03) 5023 0269 mdhf@mdhf.com.au
NIB Health Funds Ltd 13 14 63 www.nib.com.au
RT Health Fund Ltd 1300 886 123 www.rthealthfund.com.au
St.LukesHealth Ltd 1300 651 988 www.stlukes.com.au
Teachers Health Fund 1300 728 188 www.teachershealth.com.au
Teachers’ Union Health 1300 360 701 www.tuh.com.au
Transport Health Pty Ltd 1300 806 808 www.transporthealth.com.au

(*Click here to get our member funds’ contact details when telephoning from overseas, i.e. outside Australia)

Back to top